Mission To Siena
Mission To Siena by James Hadley Chase

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

My Rating: 2.5 stars
This was like watching a movie. I can’t think of a better way to describe the experience of reading this book. It was exactly like watching an old fashioned Saturday night action-flick. This is the second appearance of the Don Micklem character, which was also mentioned in the book by some reference to the “Tregarth business ” from Mission to Venice. I have grown fond of these references in Chase’s stories of his other books. Especially if I’ve read the other book too.
This story was packed with a lot of happenings. There was murder, a kidnapping, a secret organization and a crackpot villain stroking a cat in his lap. Can you think of anything else that says old fashioned thriller movie quite like a crazy bad-guy that pets his cat while making evil plans. This concept is so cliche now that I almost couldn’t believe I was reading it in a serious setting. Then I reminded myself that the book was published in the 1950’s when things like this were quite the rage I imagine.
As for the story itself, it was exciting. Yes it had the stereotypes common to it’s time but since this is a time-pass novel and something probably read while travelling or looking for a quick-read, you can’t really complain can you?
Despite the fact that the ending felt slightly abrupt and maybe a shade anti-climatic, this book cost me no more than a day’s read and so all in all it was not a bad way to spend time.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

