December is here and this post might be late but I figure it’s better than not posting at all.

This month I’ve decided to approach my reading a tad differently than before. First of all it’s a holly jolly busy month with lots of relatives and festivities involved, so I figured it would probably serve me well to ATTEMPT to be a bit more organized. So I started off with deciding on a TBR list beforehand instead of picking up anything at hand and attempting to finish it by the end of the month.

So here is this month’s (hopeful) reading list:

december-reading-list

  1. Stranded by Bracken Macleod
  2. The Terror by Dan Simmons
  3. Doctor Sleep by Stephen King
  4. The Martian by Andy Weir
  5. Doomed by Chuck Palahniuk
  6. Three Men In A Boat by Jerome K. Jerome

 

I’ve told myself that I’m going to finish these no matter what. Now usually I dont decide on the month’s reading list beforehand but I figure it’s time to try a different approach to reading. I will definitely be reading the two books I received in the Nocturnal Reader’s Box, The Terror and Stranded. Obviously there had to be a King in there and Chuck Palahniuk, coz he’s another favorite of mine. I’ve obsessedly seen The Martian so many times that I decided I should finally get around to reading it too and I’ll be revisiting an old favorite of mine, Three Men in a Boat, because it’s one of those stories that bear reading again. Other than that I’m supposed to read The Muse by Jessie Burton for my bookstagram bookclub, which should be higher up on the reading list but not having heard favorable reviews so far, isn’t such a priority for now.

Now I realize that 6 books a month isn’t a big deal to most readers, but bear in mind that 2 of the books are over 400 pages. Still, I’ve told myself that I have to read more, so in an attempt to somewhat organize my reading, I’ve decided to make a bullet journal of sorts to track my reading habits. I’m completely new to journalling and in all honesty don’t know if this form of journalling will work out, but being a lover of journals and fancy stationary, I figure it couldn’t hurt to try.

Here’s how I plan on approaching this, I’ll start off with a monthly spread, to mark the basics such as when I started and finished a book, when I last wrote a blog post and when I posted a bookstagram picture.

december-monthly-spread

A weekly spread for more detailed notes and reminders about the week:

december-weekly-spread

and then notes on the book I’m currently reading that includes notable quotes, thoughts on the story and narrative and maybe some kind of log of the number of pages I’ve read per day:

the-terror-log

Never having done any kind of bullet journalling before, these are just basic ideas that I want to start off with in the hopes of maybe eventually evolving to a better system if I can find one. I am always open to suggestions and on the lookout for ways to improve what I’m currently doing. Something I absolutely love about the Bookblogging, bookstagram and the bullet journalling community is how forthcoming people are about sharing thoughts and ideas to help people develop into what suits them best.

So here’s how I’m starting the month. Fingers crossed to reading all the books on my list and keeping up with the bullet journaling. Bring it on December!

Leave a Reply

